People

Faculty

 

A

Agrawal, Govind P.

Agrawal, Govind P.

Professor of Optics and Physics
gpa@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4846
515 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical optical physics

B

Segev BenZvi

BenZvi, Segev Y.

Assistant Professor of Physics
sybenzvi@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7172
405 Bausch & Lomb
Website

Interests: experimental astroparticle physics

Betti, Riccardo

Betti, Riccardo

Robert L. McCrory Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Physics
betti@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5479
213 Hopeman
Website

Interests: theoretical plasma physics

Bigelow, Nicholas P.

Bigelow, Nicholas P.

Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics and Optics
nbig@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8549
312 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental atomic; molecular and optical physics

Blackman, Eric G.

Blackman, Eric G.

Professor of Physics and Astronomy
blackman@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0537
417 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical astrophysics and plasma physics

Person's Photo

Bocko, Mark F.

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics
mark.bocko@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4879
333 Hopeman
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

Arie Bodek

Bodek, Arie

George E. Pake Professor of Physics
bodek@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5445
354 Bausch & Lomb
Website

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Person's Photo

Boyd, Robert W.

Professor of Optics and Physics
boyd@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2329
308 Wilmot
Website

Interests: experimental atomic; molecular and optical physics

C

Person's Photo

Castner, Theodore G.

Professor of Physics, Emeritus
tgc@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8577
463 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Cline, Douglas

Professor of Physics
cline@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4934
203D Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental nuclear physics

Gilbert 'Rip' Collins

Collins, Gilbert 'Rip'

Professor Mechanical Engineering
Professor Physics and Astronomy

g.w.collins@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0255
307 Hopeman

Interests: Laboratory Astrophysics; High Pressure/High Energy Density Physics; Condensed Matter; Planetary Science; Plasma Physics ; Thermonuclear Fusion

D

Person's Photo

Das, Ashok

Professor of Physics
das@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2955
360 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical elementary-particle physics

Person's Photo

Demina, Regina

Professor of Physics
regina@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7357
367 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Person's Photo

Dery, Hanan

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics
hanan.dery@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3870
411 Computer Science Building
Website

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Douglass, David H.

Professor of Physics
douglass@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4573
156 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics; climate science

Person's Photo

Duke, Charles B.

Professor of Physics (Research)
aed22cbd@frontiernet.net | (585) 275-4344
206 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

E

Person's Photo

Eberly, Joseph H.

Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics and Optics
eberly@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4576
321 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical atomic; molecular and optical physics

F

Person's Photo

Ferbel, Thomas

Professor of Physics
ferbel@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5306
253 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Person's Photo

Forrest, William J.

Professor of Astronomy
forrest@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4343
419 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: astrophysics; observational astronomy

Thomas Foster

Foster, Thomas H.

Professor of Imaging Sciences and Physics
thomas.foster@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1347
3-5333 Medical Center
Website

Interests: experimental biological physics

Ignacio Franco

Franco, Ignacio

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Physics
ignacio.franco@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8209
454 Hutchison Hall

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Frank, Adam

Professor of Physics and Astronomy
afrank@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1717
417A Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical astrophysics and plasma physics

Person's Photo

Froula, Dustin

Senior Scientist, LLE, and Assistant Professor of Physics
dustin.froula@rochester.edu | (585) 273-3212
288 Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Interests: experimental plasma physics

G

Yongli Gao

Gao, Yongli

Professor of Physics
ygao@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8574
473 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

Aran Garcia-Bellido

Garcia-Bellido, Aran

Associate Professor of Physics
aran@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3422
406 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Gourab Ghoshal

Ghoshal, Gourab

Assistant Professor of Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science,
CoE Distinguished researcher

gghoshal@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7748
464 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics and data science

Pierre Alexandre Gourdain

Gourdain, Pierre-Alexandre

Assistant Professor of Physics
gourdain@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3089, (585) 275-3060
456  Bausch and Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental plasma physics

Chunlei Guo

Guo, Chunlei

Professor of Optics and Physics
guo@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2134
419 Wilmot Hall
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter and optical physics

H

Person's Photo

Hagen, Carl R.

Professor of Physics
hagen@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4380
356 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical elementary-particle physics

UR photo

Helfer, H. Lawrence

Professor of Astronomy, Emeritus
lary@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4377
482 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical astrophysics and plasma physics

John Howell

Howell, John C.

Professor of Physics
howell@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0538
310 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental atomic; molecular and optical physics

J

Andrew Jordan

Jordan, Andrew N.

Associate Professor of Physics
jordan@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2418
317 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

K

Peter Knight

Knight, Peter

Professor of Physics (Research)
p.knight@imperial.ac.uk | (+44) 207-5947
Imperial College London
Website

Interests: theoretical atomic; molecular and optical physics

Robert Knox

Knox, Robert S.

Professor of Physics, Emeritus
rsk@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8572
466 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical biological physics

Wayne Knox

Knox, Wayne H.

Professor of Optics and Physics
wknox@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5520
507 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: experimental atomic; molecular and optical physics

M

Steve Manly

Manly, Steven L.

Professor of Physics
steven.manly@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8473
203E Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Robert McCrory

McCrory, Robert L.

University Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Physics, Vice Provost, Vice President, CEO and Director, Laboratory for Laser Energetics
rmcc@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4973
212 Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Website

Interests: theoretical plasma physics and laser physics

Kevin McFarland

McFarland, Kevin S.

Professor of Physics
kevin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7076
416 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Adrian Melissinos

Melissinos, Adrian C.

Professor of Physics, Emeritus
meliss@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2707
209 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

David Meyehofer

Meyerhofer, David D.

Visiting Professor of Physics
ddm@lle.rochester.edu | (505) 667-4117
Los Alamos National Lab
Website

Interests: experimental plasma physics

Person's Photo

Milonni, Peter W.

Professor of Physics (Research)
peter_milonni@comcast.net | (585) 275-4344
206 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical atomic; molecular and optical physics

N

John Nichol

Nichol, John M.

Assistant Professor of Physics
jnich10@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4396
158 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

O

Patrick Oakes

Oakes, Patrick W.

Assistant Professor of Physics & Biology
poakes@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5389
420 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental biological physics

Lynne Orr

Orr, Lynne H.

C. E. Kenneth Mees Professor of Physics, Director of Graduate Studies
orr@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8528
451 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical elementary-particle physics; financial physics

P

Judith Pipher

Pipher, Judith L.

Professor of Astronomy, Emeritus
jlpipher@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4402
422 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: astrophysics; observational astronomy

Q

Person's Photo

Quillen, Alice C.

Professor of Physics and Astronomy
aquillen@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9625
424 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical astrophysics and observational astronomy

R

Sarada Rajeev

Rajeev, Sarada G.

Professor of Physics and Mathematics
s.g.rajeev@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4796
351 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Ren, Chuang

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Physics
cren@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2048
214 Hopeman
Website

Interests: theoretical plasma physics

David Ross

Ross, David

Visiting Professor from School of Mathematical Sciences RIT
dsrsma@rit.edu
453 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: Condensed Matter Physics

Person's Photo

Rothberg, Lewis

Professor of Chemistry and Physics
rothberg@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4725
462 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

Profile Photo

Rygg, J. Ryan

Assistant Professor (Research) Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor (Research) Physics
Senior Scientist, Laboratory for Laser Energetics

j.r.rygg@rochester.edu | (585) 475-1549
307 Hopeman

Interests: Experimental high-energy-density physics; shock waves; inertial confinement fusion

S

Malcolm Savedoff

Savedoff, Malcolm P.

Professor of Astronomy, Emeritus
msavedof@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4351
206 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical astrophysics

Person's Photo

Schroeder, Wolf-Udo

Professor of Chemistry and Physics
schroeder@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8263
466 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: experimental nuclear physics

Charles Seyler

Seyler, Charles E.

Professor (Research)
ces7@cornell.edu | (607) 255-4967
Cornell University

Interests: theoretical plasma physics

Person's Photo

Shapir, Yonathan

Professor of Physics and Chemical Engineering
ysha@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7291
467 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

Albert Simon

Simon, Albert

Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Physics, Emeritus
asimon1@rochester.rr.com | (585) 385-0976
214 Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Website

Interests: theoretical plasma physics

Person's Photo

Slattery, Paul F.

Professor of Physics, Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, Emeritus
paul.slattery@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6955
201 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

Roman Sobolewski

Sobolewski, Roman

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics
roman.sobolewski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1551
425 Computer Sciences Building
Website

Interests: experimental condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Stroud, Carlos R.

Professor of Optics and Physics
stroud@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2598
312 Wilmot
Website

Interests: theoretical and experimental atomic; molecular and optical physics

T

John Tarduno

Tarduno, John A.

Professor of Geophysics, Physics and Astronomy
john.tarduno@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5923
309 Hylan
Website

Interests: experimental geodynamics; planetary science and astrophysics

Person's Photo

Teitel, Stephen L.

Professor of Physics, Associate Chair of the Department
stte@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4039
455B Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical condensed-matter physics

Person's Photo

Thomas, John H.

Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Sciences and Astronomy, Emeritus
thomas@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4083
223 Hopeman
Website

Interests: theoretical astrophysics

Edward Thorndike

Thorndike, Edward H.

Professor of Physics, Emeritus
thorn@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4382
253 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: experimental elementary-particle physics

George Thurston

Thurston, George

Visiting Professor of Physics from RIT
gmttsps@rit.edu
453 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Interests: Condensed Matter Physics

V

Person's Photo

Vamivakas, Nickolas A.

Associate Professor of Optics and Physics
nick.vamivakas@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2089
214 Wilmot
Website

Hugh Van Horn

Van Horn, Hugh M.

Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Emeritus
vanhorns1@verizon.net

Interests: theoretical astrophysics and plasma physics

Person's Photo

Visser, Taco

Visiting Professor of Physics
tvisser@nat.vu.nl | (31) 152-7815
Delft University of Technology

Interests: theoretical optical physics

W

Dan Watson

Watson, Dan M.

Chair of the Department, Professor of Physics and Astronomy
dmw@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4344
206 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: astrophysics; observational astronomy

Emil Wolf

Wolf, Emil

Wilson Professor of Optical Physics
ewlupus@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4397
307 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: theoretical optical physics

Frank Wolfs

Wolfs, Frank L. H.

Professor of Physics, Director of Undergraduate Studies
wolfs@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4937
203A Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: experimental astroparticle physics

Z

Xi-Cheng Zhang

Zhang, Xi-Cheng

M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics and Physics, Director, Institute of Optics
zhangxc@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0333
113 Wilmot Hall

Interests: experimental optical physics

Person's Photo

Zhong, Jianhui

Professor of Imaging Sciences and Physics
jianhui.zhong@rochester.edu
2A 215A Medical Annex
Website

Interests: experimental biological physics